So Salad

So Salad  After a two-hour (unbeatable $20) treatment at the sliding-scale Community Acupuncture Works, I oddly craved lettuce—for the first time in months. On my way home, I dropped by Valencia Whole Foods, a cute, overpriced, family- and locally-owned, mostly-organic grocer. I don’t prefer to shop here, but in a pinch they have nice produce. Nonetheless, the fantastic, close-knit family that owns the store outshines everything else—these people are beyond kind, business-savvy, personable, and a joy to catch up with when I’m in their store. They get big kudos for personality. Fresh, mixed, leafy greens: My craving lasted until I finished eating my salad. Now, again, I can’t stand the thought of eating lettuce. Tomorrow, I’m all over the lightly cooked, locally-grown kale and broccoli I bought from Rainbow Grocery Coop. Yellow heirloom-variety tomato: Heirlooms are grown from lovely seeds handed down over generations, found mostly at farmers’ markets. This is in contrast to the agricultural-biotechnology corporation Monsanto’s patented, single-use seeds. Food, Inc. is a wonderful documentary that unpacks industrial agriculture and Monsanto’s stranglehold on food production. Red bell pepper: Replete with antioxidants (free-radical righting, anti-cancer agents) vitamin A and vitamin C. Granny Smith apple: Crisp, tart, sweet, from Washington State. Loose leaf green tea: Rainbow Grocery bulk tea section. St. Benoit plain yogurt with juicy, dripping mango: Hyper-local, hand-crafted, French-style yogurt + unethical, organic, imported Mexican mango (It feels so bad, but tasted to good).

After a two-hour (unbeatable $20) treatment at the sliding-scale Community Acupuncture Works, I oddly craved lettuce—for the first time in months. On my way home, I dropped by Valencia Whole Foods, a cute, overpriced, family- and locally-owned, mostly-organic grocer.

I don’t prefer to shop here, but in a pinch they have nice produce. Nonetheless, the fantastic, close-knit family that owns the store outshines everything else—these people are beyond kind, business-savvy, personable, and a joy to catch up with when I’m in their store. They get big kudos for personality.

Fresh, mixed, leafy greens: My craving lasted until I finished eating my salad. Now, again, I can’t stand the thought of eating lettuce. Tomorrow, I’m all over the lightly cooked, locally-grown kale and broccoli I bought from Rainbow Grocery Coop.

Yellow heirloom-variety tomato: Heirlooms are grown from lovely seeds handed down over generations, found mostly at farmers’ markets. This is in contrast to the agricultural-biotechnology corporation Monsanto’s patented, single-use seeds. Food, Inc. is a wonderful documentary that unpacks industrial agriculture and Monsanto’s stranglehold on food production.

Red bell pepper: Replete with antioxidants (free-radical righting, anti-cancer agents) vitamin A and vitamin C.

Granny Smith apple: Crisp, tart, sweet, from Washington State.

Loose leaf green tea: Rainbow Grocery bulk tea section.

St. Benoit plain yogurt with juicy, dripping mango: Hyper-local, hand-crafted, French-style yogurt + unethical, organic, imported Mexican mango (It feels so bad, but tasted to good).So

6 thoughts on “So Salad

  1. Aww thank you! Sound and Savor is my food blog! 🙂 I am glad you like it! Lets do!! Look forward to seeing your posts in the future!

  2. I love you but have to disagree…
    Valencia Whole Foods has the worst produce and it is stupid overpriced… i once went in there for a red pepper, it was $8 / lb and all limp wrinkly… wtf

    :/ i mean it is cute, and i like the idea of you shopping near me… but man is there produce a rip

Leave a Reply

