No, I’m Not Pregnant

Protein, calcium, beta-carotenes, probiotics
Protein, calcium, beta-carotenes, probiotics

Pregnant women always want pickle-dairy pairings, right?

At first glance an odd combination (but on second thought just plain smart food combining), my afternoon lunch powered up my body for later that afternoon, when I dug deep into a Pilates-inspired Vinyasa class with Lauren Slater at Yoga Tree Valencia.

As established in previous blog entries, I’m into small plates. A petite plate a happy belly doth make. Growing up in Texas, a sensible approach to portions didn’t exist. We ate each meal (and every snack) until our bellies expanded. We were always at 100-percent capacity full. This resulted in reactionary ritual starvation in college (seriously, counting ten raisins to consume each day, along with all-you-can-eat celery and raw tofu). Now, well into my late 20s, I’m no wee teen, but I’m an incredibly healthy, active woman, and I’ve grown to realize a few things:

1) Nutrient-rich, whole food sates your body. If you’re filling your body with fake things–basically, anything processed or packaged or with more than three ingredients on a label–your body still feels empty–it craves the nutrients you aren’t giving it–prompting further, unnecessary consumption.

2) It’s okay to eat heaping portions, so long as it’s steamed vegetables. You can have plates brimming with broccoli, perhaps drizzled lightly with Bragg’s and organic, cold-pressed Stonehouse Olive Oil.

3) If you’re eating other stuff–even good stuff like the protein, calcium, beta-carotene, probiotic masterpiece featured here–it’s wise to keep it chill. With a small plate, you keep things cool and reasonable. And, with my Texas-sized legacy, it’s an effective way to do that.

Calcium: Dizzying, delightful Ermitage Brie Cheese. Jason and I picked this up on our recent trip to Rainbow Grocery Coop, and it’s a world of buttery, mild, slightly-salty goodness. I go so far as to eat the rind. As an erstwhile vegan of ten years, I can very safely say that this shit’s the real deal, y’all. (And nicely paired with fig or pear jam and champagne.)

Protein: Can you say Brazil nuts? Nutrition in a tiny package, these pack major protein, fiber, mono- and poly-unsaturated fats, and selenium. What’s that? Selenium is a trace mineral that helps repair cells, and many studies indicate that it has anti-cancer properties. Sourced from the fine folks at Rainbow, in the bulk bins.

Probiotics: Bubbies pickles come straight from your old-world Jewish great-grandmother. These kosher dills are killers.

Beta-carotene: Carrots are chock-full of this nifty antioxidant, and lightly steamed in water and drizzled in Bragg’s gives ’em a kick!

Happy noshing, lovelies!

6 thoughts on “No, I’m Not Pregnant

  1. Now I’m hungry. I love your small-plate philosophy. Also coming from a culture which promotes much eating (Jewish mother – eat, eat, you’re too thin!), I appreciate the sensible approach.

    1. Nice! My boyfriend’s Jewish mother tells Jason the same thing all of the time, with a thick Boston accent. But she must know a thing or two…well into her 60s, she’s slim, walks miles and miles every morning, and is one of the most active people I know! (She also makes this “Russian” dressing that’s mayonnaise and ketchup, blended.)

      1. Ah, the “Russian” dressing. There’s a recipe in one of my kosher cookbooks which is for “Russian-Dressed Flounder” and has that very combo. My husband, who emigrated from Russia (well, Ukraine) when he was 9, doesn’t remember ever even having ketchup. haha.

      2. Jason’s grandparents immigrated from Russia to New York City before the war. I think the ketchup in the American “Russian” dressing a product of assimilation–I wonder what the homeland recipe calls for? Thanks for all of your feedback. I’m excited to read Life in the Married Lane.

  2. alliteration abigail.
    abigailEatwrite.
    abigailEatRight.
    abikale and friends eat all.
    slickwick.
    abisnail’s slowfood journal.

Leave a Reply

