Palate-Pleasing Plain-Jane Supper

Plain-Jane 'n' Proud-of-It
Plain-Jane 'n' Proud-of-It

After a three-day Yoga Loft retreat in Sonoma County, my body had become a holy angel of purity. Yours would, too, if you were eating nothing but raw vegetables, soaking out gnarly toxins in a hot tub with intermittent splashes in a cold pool, meditating for an hour at 7a, hiking in glorious forests….oh, and doing ass-kicking yoga from morning to night. And guess what?

Although my experience didn’t quite achieve party-on, platonic polyamory, I easily discerned the potential for a yoga retreat to be the new sexy. Really. Imagine frisky coed camping, except instead of drugs and alcohol, it’s just tons of bright and shining healthy-ass people without body-image issues and emotional baggage.

With my body wrung-out (not strung-out), I couldn’t bear the thought of indulging in my usual Sunday-night favorite: red wine, Roquefort, and water crackers. Sugar-free and wheat-free ways were awaitin’. In a stroke of macrobiotic madness, I threw together a fifteen-minute meal. The goods?

Brown rice, prepared in just fifteen minutes using my pressure cooker—-a metal pot with a sealed-fast lip and lid. Once its water reaches boiling, the pot whistles like a tea kettle, meaning it’s time to turn off the heat and let the pressure and steam perform its randy rice-magic. With only a few minutes’ worth of gas or electric energy necessary for the preparation of rice, pressure cookers are a best-bet green alternative to conventionally cooking rice for up to an hour.

Straight outta Cali....
Comin' Straight outta Cali....

Mild miso-and-onion soup with minced ginger and garlic, along with parsley flakes. A seemingly simple soup, it’s in fact an immune-system-boosting and organ-cleansing combo.

Miso: With an impressive nutrient profile, this fermented soybean paste offers vital B12 vitamins and a healthy dose of zinc, a mineral that addresses everything from the common cold to properly healing wounds.

Onion: Anti-microbial, tear-triggering, and delicious!

Ginger: Promotes proper digestion by soothing and relaxing the intestinal tract.

Garlic: Aromatic and pleasingly pungent, a tiny clove of garlic offers 25-percent of your daily nutritional intake of manganese, a mineral that creates enzymes necessary for metabolizing food.

Parsley: Freshens the breath and can be drunk as a tea.

Happy supping, lovelies!

4 thoughts on “Palate-Pleasing Plain-Jane Supper

  1. Wow, thanks for the reminder of why to do simple. Seems that I need more complex flavors when my senses are dulled. Then I can’t taste simple. But when I’m actually in my body and present, I can taste the complexities of plain old brown rice, and it just isn’t plain! Maybe that’s why ashram food is simple: not about renunciation at all. So here’s a request: how about some 5 ingredients or less, quick, delicious stuff to eat? I would be so very grateful!

    1. Jane! So far from plain! So much of our gastronomic disorientation and inability to savor the simple sweetness, for instance, of a golden raisin comes from a food culture oriented around processed products–but you already know that. I think my brief raw foods stint further confirmed my fascination with basic whole foods. Broccoli stems, persimmons, brown rice….there is so much good in the world.

      I am using your request for five-ingredients-or-less foods as a platform for one of my next blog blog posts. I think it’s a terrific, useful request.

      And I’m so honored and pleased that you read this entry….although I see how the title enticed you. I will be in an ashram next year, in March. It will be my first time in India. You are so inspiring.

Leave a Reply

